media, music, remix

OCRemix Profiles: Joshua Morse

This is my first post in what might be a series of posts about Over Clocked Remix (usually shortened to OCRemix). Naturally, I decided to start with a post on one of my favorite OCRemixers, composer Joshua Morse. According to his homepage, he’s a geek based in Nashville, TN.

Music Style:

The sound of Morse’s mixes is almost immistakable. For one thing, it’s because he uses the same orchestra of sounds, but also he holds a style you might describe as “bouncy”, depending on the mix. There are soft and soothing moments where strings and synth pads take over for a time, but most times you have a distinct groove supported by percussion instruments of sorts. Occasionally, punchy bass drum penetrates the background to establish this groove.

My favorite album of his to date is Mega Man: The Robot Musuem. It’s a solo job and one of the few on the OCRemix website, but Morse didn’t need help with this one. He masters each song in its own right while maintaining a consistent theme throughout the album. The first time I listened through it, it sounded alittle odd, but that was a mood issue. Don’t let not being in the mood swing you away from listening to this artist – just come back at another time.

Albums he has contributed to:

* OCRA-? Wild At Arms
* OCRA-0033 Mega Man X: Maverick Rising
* OCRA-0029 25YEARLEGEND: A Legend of Zelda Indie Game Composer Tribute
* OCRA-0027 Mega Man 9: Back in Blue
* OCRA-0025 Sonic the Hedgehog: The Sound of Speed
* OCRA-0024 Mega Man: The Robot Museum
* OCRA-0022 Heroes vs. Villains
* OCRO-0003 Return All Robots! Original Soundtrack
* OCRA-0017 Donkey Kong Country 2: Serious Monkey Business
* OUS EP-07 Jingle All The Way
* OCRA-0016 Castlevania: Sonata of the Damned
* OUS EP-06 Castlevania: Symphony of the Night – Resurrection
* OUS EP-05 Thai Guy
* Ragnarok Online : Hybridism
* OCRA-0007 Super Street Fighter II Turbo: Blood on the Asphalt

I’ve heard his contributions to all of the mixes from Maverick Rising to Heroes vs. Villains. (By the way, the list isn’t in chronological order; The Robot Museum came out prior to Heroes vs. Villains; the items further down on the list tend to be older. NOTE: OCRA stands for “OCRemix album”.) I enjoyed 5 of the 6 (his remix “Sting” for Maverick Rising was too dark for me, though it does maintain his personal sound).

Some sweet samples you might enjoy (a list I may append to at any time):


Enter the space and time of my little world... Welcome Earthling.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s